Pastoralist Leadership Summit (PLS)

    The first Pastoralist Leadership Summit (PLS) was held in Narok County. The conference was an outcome of a Pastoralist Parliamentary Group (PPG) meeting held in Mombasa in 2013, which recommended the involvement of county leadership in the annual pastoralists’ leaders conference.

    The PLS brings together the leadership in Kenya from 15 counties; Turkana, Baringo, West Pokot, Samburu, Isiolo, Marsabit, Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, Tana River, Elgeyo Marakwet, Kajiado, Narok, Laikipia and Lamu. The PLS leadership in 2018 comprises of 15 Governors, 21 Senators, 84 MPs including the 27 Women County Representatives in the National Assembly and 15 Speakers of the County Assemblies.

    For the first time, Members of the County Assemblies, especially from the FCDC, 10 counties will be attending the summit. The members of the 12th Parliament changed PLS as a formal operating structure to an annual event that is organized by the PPG.

    The next PLS conference will be held in Garissa in February 2019 jointly organized by the PPG and FCDC.