The Pastoralist Parliamentary Group (PPG) was formed in 1998. Its purpose is to mainstream the pastoralists' agenda within the national and policy processes. The membership of PPG is open to all members elected or nominated from the 15 majority pastoralist counties to the National Assembly (MPs/CWR) and the Senate (Senators) regardless of their ethnicity or political party affiliation.

    The PPG membership in the 12th Parliament stands at 105 members from among the 11 political parties*. There is a total of 27 women members that include the first pastoralist woman elected to the Senate from Isiolo County and five women elected as members of parliament representing the Baringo South, Ijara-Garissa, Kajiado East, Laikipia North, and Samburu West constituencies.

    *Jubilee (62), Kanu (12), ODM (9), PDR (5), EFP (5), MCCP (3), Wiper (3), KPP (2), Ford Kenya, CCM and FAP all have one member each.


    To be a critical parliamentary force that ensures security, unity, and prosperity for the pastoralists in Kenya.

    To provide political leadership in the development and implementation of policies legislation that achieve pastoralism's full potential.

    • Collaboration and joint working
    • Integrity
    • Honesty
    • Peace
    • Unity in diversity

    Organization structure

    1. Executive Committee provides guidance and direction to the overall PPG program implementation, institutional growth and accountability.
    2. Membership Policy Consultations occur every six months to define new priorities and review progress.
    3. Sub-committees champion one of 11 PPG priority themes. Sub-committees meet at least once a quarter to plan for interventions, monitor and report on progress.
    4. Pastoralist Leadership Summit: A national annual event that brings together the pastoralists’ national and county leadership in Kenya to speak with one voice on critical issues, set the annual agenda and work plan for the realization of pastoralists’ aspirations in Kenya.
    1. PATRON: PPG Patron for 12th Parliament is Majority Leader, Hon. Aden Duale, EBS, MP.
    2. PPG Officials: Executive Committee
      - Chairman and Deputy
      - Secretary General and Deputy
      - Treasurer and Deputy
      - Organizing Secretary and Deputy
    3. PLS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE (Selected from the PPG officials and County leadership)

    Work plan

    The following are issues for immediate actions:

    • Revive Hon. Abdinoor Bill- on the Livestock marketing Board Bill, lobby for CS to gazette establishment of the Board and appointment of the right qualified individuals to the Board
    • Finalize LITS Strategy and Regulation from three technical suggestion to anchor LITS Bill– whether anchor it on the Animal Health Bill, or Animal Disease Act (364) or move an amendment bill that may Repeal the Kenya Branding Act Cap 357.
    • Review the Equalization Fund Regulations and sponsor a new Equalization Fund Bill.
    • Fast track Senate Drought Response Fund Bill
    • Build a strong independent formal PPG institution.

    Before the end of the current term of the 12th Parliament, the PPG plans to focus its collective institutional responsive to achieve results around the following policy and legislative areas:

    1. Peace and security: Ending inter-community pastoralist conflict
    2. Education including for nomadic children
    3. Pastoralist women and youth empowerment
    4. Pastoralism and livestock productivity
    5. Equalization and affirmative action funds
    6. Devolution and decentralized governance
    7. Community land
    8. National drought management and emergency response
    9. Basic public service, public appointments, placements, and physical infrastructure
    10. Pastoralist leadership summit conferences
    11. Organizational development and sustainability of the PPG secretariat.